Diabetes Center's German Receives 2007 JDRF Scholar Award

Diabetes Center Associate Director Michael German, M.D., professor in the UCSF Department of Medicine and the Justine K. Schreyer Endowed Chair in Diabetes Research, was named a 2007 JDRF Scholar – the second year in a row that a Diabetes Center researcher has received this award.

JDRF today announced the recipients of its second annual Scholar Awards. The award provides sustained support for individual scientists of extraordinary talent and creativity who pursue pioneering research toward finding a cure for type 1 diabetes and its complications.

Among the researchers selected are Dr. Michael German, associate director of the Diabetes Center at the University of California at San Francisco; Dr. Anjana Rao, professor of pathology at Harvard Medical School and senior investigator at the CBR Institute for Biomedical Research in Boston; Dr. Pere Santamaria, director of the Julia McFarlane Diabetes Research Centre at the University of Calgary Faculty of Medicine, Canada; Dr. Ann Marie Schmidt, Gerald & Janet Carrus professor of Surgical Science at Columbia University Medical Center in New York; Dr. Markus Stoffel, professor of the Institute of Molecular Systems Biology at the ETH in Zurich, Switzerland; and Dr. Matthias von Herrath, professor of developmental immunology at La Jolla Institute for Allergy & Immunology.

"The Scholar Award is designed to encourage and support innovative, high-risk and high-reward, paradigm-shifting, challenging research," said Richard Insel, Executive Vice President of Research, JDRF. "To fulfill its mission and find a cure fast, JDRF depends on the creativity and excellence of individual scientists."

The six scholars were selected for this prestigious award because of their ground-breaking ideas, unique research direction, willingness to take risks, and commitment to accelerating type 1 diabetes research. Each recipient will receive $250